Skip to content

The ever-helpful to-do list

May 22, 2015

When I get discouraged with a project — like yesterday, when I tried to do heat transfers for the first time in 8 years or so, and I couldn’t remember some of the steps, like .. well, it’s complicated if you’re not used to doing it.  Also, I think the little heat press I kept on hand is not reliable as to temperature.  And I forgot which tiles were from Home Depot, and which were for sublimation.  And I spent most of the afternoon trying to design a box, to be used for a “storefront” greeting card, and became quite frustrated.

Well, as I was saying, when that happens, I stop and take a breath.  I take a day and just ruminate, make lists of all the projects I have going on, what I want to do next, and what I can eliminate from my often stressful life.  The lists really help me to get centered, and realize that some of what I thought was pressing really isn’t, and other things could inspire me more.

After I did that, I decided to organize my closet.  I separated clothes for donation, clothes I’m tired of seeing in my closet, and brought closer to the front things I really like and had forgotten about.  I have a tiny clothes closet and even that has far too many things in it.  I have my “painting” clothes  (tee shirts that are forever ruined to be worn in public) and my “fancy” clothes, things I wear once or twice a year if I actually leave the house in the evening.  I really don’t require too many of each, but it’s funny the habits we develop when we are young and don’t stop to realize it’s no longer necessary to keep all that clutter.

So after yesterday’s disappointments, I am feeling productive and creative again today.

Try it!  Stop, make lists, write in your journal, go clean something, and all the while your muse is thinking up new things to inspire you for when you are ready to go back to the studio.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

